Sassy Actress, with a Side of Quirk

Life Musings by a Real Drama Queen

It’s The Start Of Something New! Leg TWO!!!

on January 4, 2015

Do you hate me for using a HIGH SCHOOL MUSICAL song as my post title? I hate me a little…it just fits so perfectly.

HEY! Hey you!!!! So it has been a while since I’ve blogged about the tour…I kind of left you, internet friends (my mom and Calvin), in the lurch at the tail end of my first leg of tour. I’m not going to make any excuses, I am just going to be honest. Touring is super tiring and writing was the thing I wanted to do least on my time off. That being said, I hope to chronicle my touring adventures a bit better the second time around.

I also kind of want to play around with talking less about the actual tour and talking more about how to keep happy and healthy while touring. That may bore some people, but honestly, that’s what I struggled with the most during the first leg. The travel schedule can be brutal, and when you add performances with early load ins, it can be hard to stay on top of things like exercise and proper nutrition. Now don’t get me wrong, I LOVE TOURING, especially with this company, but it is challenging to keep yourself in tip top shape when you are in a different place every other day. So, this time around, I am making me a priority!

The thing I found most difficult was finding the energy to exercise while traveling. When you have a long 8 hour drive, the last thing you want to do when you get out of the van is exercise. Travel sucks the energy right out of you and when your call time in the morning is early, exercise can feel nearly impossible. Despite all of this, however, I am going to try my best to do some sort of workout at least five days a week, and I’ll keep you posted on how that fits into my crazy schedule. While we were on hiatus during the holidays, I got back into a routine and worked out about four times a week. Call me old-fashioned, but I really like working out to dvds, especially since I like classes, but can’t always afford them. Some of my favorites are Jillian Michaels 30 Day Shred, and the old Sharon Mann dvds from the early 2000s- Don’t count her out! She was way ahead of the curve when it comes to strength training!

As for nutrition, I am still trying to figure out what works best for me. I know I feel best when I cut out most grains/carbs/sugars but it is a big challenge keeping that up while on the road. However, this time I came prepared! My mom bought me this awesome portable smoothie blender for Christmas, so I will definitely try that out, especially in the mornings when the pickings at the continental breakfast are slim. Also, does anyone have any suggestion for green superfood powders? I am trying to find one that will help me get my greens while on the road. Leave a comment if you have one you like! I also have a tupperware container with me this time around that can steam things, so hopefully that will help me make some healthier food choices. Speaking of, another goal I have for this leg is to dine LESS at restaurants…which is probably the most difficult challenge of all since we go out to dinner every night. Towards the end of the first leg, I found that buying food at local grocery stores was just as delicious and usually healthier and cheaper than at the restaurants. I like picking up a few random things like a sweet potato, rotisserie chicken, and some pre-made salad mix and eating a dinner like that, a la carte. I hope to do that a few times a week to save some money and calories. I am going to be experimenting with hotel cooking, since most places have microwaves and refridgerators in the rooms too. It’s going to be one hell of an adventure!

And don’t worry, I am still going to post about tour stuff. I gotta keep my friends updated. I actually fly out to Omaha tomorrow (NUTTY!) and we hit the road on Tuesday, en route to Wisconsin, our first stop on Leg Two! I’ll let you know how it all goes after being off for a month from the show.

Oh! I almost forgot! We have a new stage manager this leg! Our first SM, David, got offered to be the Stage Manager for the National Tour of Memphis, so he won’t be with us for this leg of the tour (sad face). BUT we have the resident stage manager at The Rose, Angel, coming out on tour with us (yeahhhhh woman powerrrrr) so I know we will be in good hands. Well, that’s all I got for now…let’s hope I keep this resolution going!

xoxo
Garland…I mean Dionna
😛

Leave a Reply

