Sassy Actress, with a Side of Quirk

Life Musings by a Real Drama Queen

Amazing Dark Chocolate Chunk Baked Oatmeal

on April 3, 2015

So, I love food. I think that is apparent by now. One thing I hate is recipes. I love to cook but it is a RARE occasion that you will find me following a recipe. When I cook, 98% of the time I just use recipes for inspiration and then I riff off of them with whatever ingredients I have on hand. That being said, I do occasionally follow recipes, especially those written by my FAVORITE food blogger Jessica Merchant, from How Sweet Eats. She is awesome and her recipes are exceptional.

I was never a huge fan of oatmeal but it’s really affordable so I kept trying to find a recipe that I liked. I am not the biggest fan of it in just as a hot breakfast cereal, so I was looking for a recipe that was different, could be made ahead of time, and was portable. Well, howsweeteats did not disappoint! She has this awesome Dark Chocolate Chunk Cheesecake Baked Oatmeal that is INCREDIBLE. It is one of the only recipes I follow exactly as is and have made multiple times. It is just THAT GOOD. Like, so good that you should make it now…and then make mine 🙂

So, as I have stated, I love this recipe and make it as is a lot…but in true Dionna style, I can’t just always make this recipe the same way! Plus, I tried making this yesterday and I didn’t have any coconut milk or mascarpone, so I did what I do best in the kitchen- I improvised! I improvised so damn well that I decided to write down exactly what I did because it was FANTASTIC. Plus, my version is dairy-free and is not as sweet, so it can really be eaten as breakfast, a snack, or as dessert. Hell, I might have eaten a few slices right out of the pie plate…but who’s counting, am I right?

Dark Chocolate Chunk Baked Oatmeal (Dairy-Free) adapted from How Sweet Eats

2 cups old-fashioned rolled oats
1/4 cup raw sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon cinnamon
1 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
1 large egg, lightly beaten
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 individual packages Justin’s Chocolate Hazelnut Butter (approx 2-3 ounces)*
3 ounces 72% dark chocolate, chopped into chunks

  • Preheat your oven to 375 degrees F and spray a pie plate (9×9) with non-stick spray. I like to use coconut oil spray since it adds a nice flavor and can withstand high temps.
  • Mix together the oats, sugar, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon. Set aside.
  • Whisk together the almond milk, egg, vanilla extract, and chocolate hazelnut butter.
  • Add the wet ingredients to the dry and mix to combine. Fold in chopped dark chocolate.
  • Pour mixture into the pie plate and bake in the oven for about 23 minutes, or just until set.

This baked oatmeal is great right out of the oven, gooey and hot, but I actually like it better after it has cooled, at room temperature. It tastes like a nutty, chocolately, soft oatmeal cookie, plus it is full of protein and fiber. I cut it into slices and take it with me when I go to auditions but it is also great reheated, with a splash of almond milk. It’s dairy-free and if you use certified gluten free oats, it is also gluten free! Try it out and let me know what you think!

The finished product!

The finished product!

*This is the only chocolate hazelnut butter I use. It has the best consistency because it has hazelnuts AND almonds. I also love it because it is low in sugar, dairy-free, and very chocolatey. They also use great ingredients and I find that it is worth the price tag! You could obviously substitute another chocolate hazelnut butter but the level of sweetness and the consistency will differ.*

xoxo

D

(None of these links are sponsored)

Leave a Reply

